Eminent Engineering Professors Recognized in HKUST Faculty Recognition Ceremony

The Fourth HKUST Faculty Recognition Ceremony was held on December 7, 2022 to acknowledge and applaud the outstanding research and teaching achievements of the University’s faculty members in the 2020/21 and 2021/22 academic years. Among the 31 honorees, 13 of them are from the School of Engineering (SENG)’s six departments. All of them were recipients of prestigious awards and honors in the past two years, demonstrating their unremitting efforts and excellence in teaching, research and service.

The honorees from SENG are:

Prof. Fei SUN
Chemical and Biological Engineering

  • Named 2021 Excellent Young Scientist by the National Natural Science Foundation of China


Prof. Khaled BEN LETAIEF
Electronic and Computer Engineering

  • Elected International Member of the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE) in 2021
  • Awarded Tunisia’s national accolade for the Best Tunisian Researcher or Inventor Abroad in 2020


Prof. CHEN Qing
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering and Chemistry

  • Named 2020 Excellent Young Scientist by the National Natural Science Foundation of China


Prof. Guillermo GALLEGO
Industrial Engineering and Decision Analytics

  • Recipient of the 2021 INFORMS Revenue Management and Pricing Section Prize by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences


Prof. Kei May LAU
Electronic and Computer Engineering

  • Recipient of the 2020 J. J. Thomson Medal for Electronics by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)


Prof. Ricky LEE Shi-Wei
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

  • Recipient of the 2021 Avram Bar-Cohen Memorial Award by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)


Prof. Anthony LEUNG Kwan
Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • Recipient of the Outstanding Young Geotechnical Engineer Award 2022 by the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE)
  • Recipient of the Geotechnical Research Medal 2022 by Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) Publishing


Prof. Rhea Patricia LIEM
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

  • Received the UGC Teaching Award 2021 under the category of Early Career Faculty Members by the University Grants Committee


Prof. SHAO Qiming
Electronic & Computer Engineering and Physics

  • Recipient of the 2022 IEEE Magnetics Society Early Career Award at the 2022 Joint MMM-INTERMAG Conference


Prof. Wei SHYY
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

  • Bestowed with the distinction of Officer in the National Order of the Legion of Honour, conferred on behalf of the President of the French Republic in 2022


Prof. WONG Man
Electronic and Computer Engineering

  • Recipient of 2021 Slottow-Owaki Prize awarded by the Society for Information Display (SID)


Prof. Raymond WONG Chi-Wing
Computer Science and Engineering

  • Awarded the 2020 Michael G. Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching


Prof. YANG Hai
Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • Recipient of 2021 Francis C. Turner Award presented by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)


Four short talks by the honoree professors were given during the ceremony. These included Prof. Anthony Leung Kwan who spoke on nature-based solutions for sustainable urban cities and Prof. Rhea Liem who spoke on the joy of teaching.

(This news was originally published by the School of Engineering.)

Prof. Fei SUN from the Chemical and Biological Engineering Department

What to read next